Breathe

 

image

Finally! I can write again!

Last week has been crazy! Sometimes, it just feels as if you’re in a tail spin. There are so many things that need doing, and only so many hours. Lately, it seems as though time has been speeding up, passing quicker. No matter how hard I try to plan my schedule, nothing fits!

In the end, there’s a whole lot of ‘busy’ in your day, without you having accomplished much.

The month of May turned out to be quite an amazing time for me. I learned to take ‘quiet time’ for myself. I don’t try to meditate, because for a person with ADHD/OCD, that is punishment! You can’t try to ‘be quiet’. I lie down for 10 minutes at a time, listening to ambient sounds (I’m working on my root, so for me, this will be the sound of thunder and rain).

I also got out more! I’m taking time out to sit in my garden, just enjoying the sunshine and the sensation of grass under my feet. The cat likes it too!

I suddenly realised today that I feel more present, and even though there are many things that still need to be done, I’m not stressing over them quite as much. I actually have the sensation of being more productive. I’m still a work in progress, though. It just became clear how brainwashed we become – meeting deadlines, being productive, chasing perfection… We don’t know how to wind down anymore.

So, don’t sweat the small stuff so much. Be kind to YOU. Look after yourself. BREATHE. You’re the only you on this planet.

V

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

