Orderly

imageOrderly

The piece of paper lies on the table, waiting.

I reach for it with ink and graphite

The paper in my hands

My life, the paper.

 

It just lies there in front of me – blank, empty, untouched.

Orderly.

But, for it to remain orderly, it must stay untouched.

So, that which makes it orderly also renders it useless.

 

I sit there, waiting.

It’s waiting. For me to make my move.

Circling each other like predators

A game of cards. A chess match.

 

Dare I disturb it? Wake it from its slumber?

An untamed, mysterious, beautiful beast.

Dare I let it lie in captivity

only to have its powers spent, its potential wasting away?

 

The only way to unleash it, is through chaos

Order must be sacrificed.

I must reach for the ink and the graphite

to pierce the veil.

 

The tip touches the surface – scratching, marking

It feels my pen.

It must be done.

And from my chaos may spring forth

Order.

 

 

Leave a Reply

